Bridge on the River Kromme


Tuesday 22 March 2011: 4 years 6 months on … ADVANTAGE ED

Of late, I need more and more sleep.

I used to go to bed late and wake up early. It was a habit I learnt as a student at Stellenbosch University.  Now I go to bed early and wake up late. And no sooner have I got up in the morning than I need to go and have an afternoon nap.

All this means that I have less time to do what needs to be done. And there is still so much to do!

Some days, like Monday, when I woke up I felt as if I haven’t had any sleep at all. The rest of the day becomes a write-off! Some days, like Friday, was also a complete write-off. But that was self-inflicted!

Thursday was St Patrick’s Day. JD Visser, who was primarius of Helshoogte Residence at Stellenbosch many years after me, has just moved to Port Elizabeth. So we celebrated St Paddy’s together at the Keg and Swan. The mood was festive, the black Guiness flowed thanks to the specials, and we both ended up on Friday morning with a Guiness Top Hat and a Guiness hangover! Thank goodness, unlike JD, I didn’t have work to go to and could sleep in late and blame it on the CBD! (After having experienced Dublin in December, I could only imagine what Temple Bar in Dublin must be like on St Paddy’s Day!)

Because Monday was a public holiday – Human Rights Day – we also had a long weekend to recover. Sean and I drove down to St Francis Bay on Friday afternoon early, and later we were joined by Pera, her Mom, Phillip and Oscar Biggs, a school mate of Phil’s.

The autumn weather is always magnificent. This weekend has been exceptional. Lovely warm, windless days and cool evenings have been dished up for us – ideal weather for long walks along the beach, swimming, boating and braaing. And for Phil and Oscar, after the runs and paddles (preparing for rugby season) there are hours of “Ad Maths” – both do advanced mathematics and they have to prepare for a test this week.  I have decided to call them Albert Einstein and Isaac Newton! They have left a paper trail across the dining room table – thank goodness the weather is so good that meals are taken out on the deck, and we don’t have to disturb the maths lessons!

The family returned to Port Elizabeth on Monday afternoon in time for Sean to attend his Old Grey Rugby practice. I stayed until Tuesday, finishing off a few chores and hoping to write. But, the weariness gets the better of me and I spend more time sleeping.

On the way back to PE, I stopped over in Jeffery’s Bay to meet Robin Morris. Robin has listened to our radio programme and sent me a copy of his book “I See Therefore I Am I Think”. Its cover says “Why are we here…Who are we…Where are we going…And what happens when we get there…?”

I look forward to reading this book, and I think it will take me a while. But for the present, I have just finished “Miracle on the River Kwai” by Ernest Gordon. It kept me busy during the weekend and gave me a whole new insight into World War 2 fought against the Japanese in the jungles of the East.

It also gave me a whole new insight into the human spirit, adversity, overcoming adversity and living life – making the most of the hand that we have been dealt! I tried to get a copy of the movie Bridge on the River Kwai – just to get some more perspective. The lady at the video shop thought I was insane asking for such an old movie! Anyway, I’m sure I’ll find it somewhere at some or other cheap second rate video rental shop!

Well, so much for long weekend, reading, resting and relaxing … for the first time in a long while I just didn’t get to the computer to write.

Tonight, I will be attending a meeting of the HIgh School’s new Club 300. More next week …

2 comments on “Bridge on the River Kromme

  1. Hi Ed
    You are doing a fantastic job of not only raising awareness of your illness but of the neccessity to live life to the full and treasure every moment.
    A major issue that could you help raise awareness of is the issue of Shell (and others) wanting to Frack for gas in the Karoo. This could detroy the Karoo as we know it for generations to come. I, and all of the people Karoo, would be truly gratefull if you could help us to raise public awareness of this impending environmental and social disaster, should the gas companies get the go ahead to do this.

  2. Pingback: Earth Water and Fire | BrainStorms – Ed Lunnon's Blog

Leave a Reply

