All the Queen’s Horses and All the Queen’s Men


©2012 Edward C. Lunnon

Tuesday 5 June 2012: 5 years 9 months on … Deuce

I have mentioned before that my forefathers come from England and that my surname results from the mispronunciation of London, from where they originally came.

 I suppose that is why I love London and all it represents.

This has been an exceptional week for me and all London lovers. Sky News has been my constant companion as I have eagerly watched the celebration of the diamond jubilee of the reign of Queen Elizabeth II.

It’s the P’s that attract me: the places, the parades, the pomp, the pageantry, the preciseness, the precision, the punctuality, the picture, the people, the pronounciation,  the patriotism, the pride, the purity, the process, the perfection … (ha-ha, the Princess)

So, Saturday (in between Phillip playing rugby for the 4th team against Dale on the Philip field and Sean refereeing on the Pyott Field) I spent the day at the races.

And Sunday, despite Frank and Jenny and Lesley coming to braai, I spent the day on the Thames with the thousand other boats that formed part of that magnificent flotilla.

And Monday, after swimming at Humewood Gym (perhaps too much, because I can feel some very eina muscles today) and meetings with Duncan McDonald (Supporters’ Club) and Bruce Jefferies (Outdoor advertising), I attended the Jubilee Spectacular Concert at Buckingham Palace – not once, but twice!

Tuesday, I started watching the Parade through London to St Paul’s Cathedral, but then had to attend the inauguration meeting of the motor-neurone disease support group (more of that later!)  Later, I saw the Parade down the Mall, the balcony appearance and the flypast, and in the evening, watched a re-run of the Church service.

Thanks to modern technology and SKY and BBC, I was there.

At the end of the day, Life boils down to family and friends, Church and community, and service above self!

I saw all this in the celebrations of the last four days in London.

I saw this in the meeting at Old Grey Club this morning to initiate the Eastern Cape chapter of the SA Motor-neurone Disease Association. Whilst strictly speaking my CBD is not a motor-neurone disease, there are so many similarities in our symptoms, that it makes sense to pool our resources and help each other.

I am so pleased that Sr Gaynor Bishop has taken this job upon herself and that I have been able to assist her in starting this sorely needed support group for people with neurological illnesses here in the Eastern Cape and in Port Elizabeth in particular. May it grow from strength to strength!

In the afflictions that we grapple with daily, we are aware that there is (currently) no cure. However, we can do with all the support and assistance that we can get!

 

Humpty Dumpty sat on the wall; Humpty Dumpty had a great fall

All the king’s horses and all the king’s men, Couldn’t put Humpty together again!  

Leave a Reply

