Thirty Years On


We have reached … Not the end of the road … But only just another T-junction … The Tomorrow junction. I will write when I have some time … In the meantime thanks for rereading Thirty Years On …. It’s an emotional day for so many of us for so many different reasons!

BrainStorms - Ed Lunnon's Blog

©2013 Edward C. Lunnon

Friday 7 June 2013: 6 years 9 months on …

Game ED

Thirty years ago to the month, June 1983, I arrived in Port Elizabeth for the first time.

I was born in Stellenbosch and had been raised in the Western Cape. After having finished my schooling in Oklahoma, USA and graduating from Stellenbosch University, I completed my military service in Oudtshoorn in 1982/1983.

In the possession of a Higher Diploma in Education and an Education Department Bursary to be repaid, I had applied for a position in Port Elizabeth.

The post had been advertised in the Cape Provincial Education Gazette in early 1982 at the beginning of my two year stint in the military:

“The Cape Education Department has a vacancy for a teacher to head up a newly established Port Elizabeth Computer Studies Centre based at the Grey High School for Boys.”

I applied to The Rector (!), Post…

View original post 662 more words

Leave a Reply

