Week of the Proms


7 Years 9 months ill …

Physical: Advantage Ed / Mental: Advantage Ed

 

I Remember …

… This was the week of frustration with GEMS Medical Aid. All I want is my medication. After all, I  have paid into the medical aid since my first salary cheque in January 1982, that’s 37 times! What frustration and thanks to Provincial Pharmacy and DisChem Newton Park for assisting! Thanks to Sr Janice from Hospice for her help, too!

WordpressBlog 008

… For the last 7 years and 6 months, since December 2007, I have been living on and driven and fuelled by my Pot ‘o Gold – Carbilev! From this Sunday I am now on my new fuel – a generic medicine called Teva Carbi-levo. Why? Because my new medical aid says so (it’s cheaper!) The old pills came in a plastic pot 100 at a time – the new ones are blister packed and have to be removed one-by-one from the blisters – ten on a sleeve. Rather stupid, me thinks, when they are for people whose fine motor skills no longer work and who cannot use their fingers!! Let’s just hope the 25mg carbidopa and and 100mg levodopa keep me moving like the old ones ….

… Last Night of the Proms and Banquet was attended by Pera, Gran, Peggy and I on Saturday evening. What a show and spread! Thanks to Gavin Loon, Investec and St Francis Hospice. I spoke at the Sunday afternoon show … see my speech blogged here :

https://edlunnon.wordpress.com/2014/06/01/hospice-heros-thank-you/

While you there also view my blog Zip Zap!

WordpressBlog 006

… I had lunches with my matric maths teacher, Michiel Ackerman, and with Ben Roth

… We started preparing for our HHH40 Reunion in Somerset West on 26/27 September 2014

… We went to the Mumford Revolution show at Old Grey with Stapes and Trish …wow!

WordpressBlog 007… Beer tasting at Barney’s is always a pleasure and add in the view!

… Swimming and exercising at Aurora Hospital and Rehab Centre is now on my weekly routine schedule. Followed by a meeting at Dis-Chem Pharmacy to sort out my pills.

… I used to spend days away from home on business trips – Jozie, Cape Town, East London, George. The best was leaving the Big Smoke and coming home. Today, Sean flys to Jozie on his very first business trip. Be safe!

Welcome to the world of delayed flights, waiting, airport lounges and company beers! Enjoy!

Haha … And the first flight IS delayed!

… And it’s time for another MND meeting at Old Grey … With Iron Man, motivational speaker , ex house mate and colleague Alec Riddle!

Leave a Reply

