Jonesie


A Tribute by Douglas Smith

I haven’t used Facebook to reflect my feelings on anything in a few years, but today is sadly the time to do so.

Today one of the few people that I have ever consider a mentor passed away. As my House Master at school Mr Vaughn Jones took an interest in my life and made a friend of me in no time. He noticed the trouble-maker in me that got under many a teacher’s skin and helped me out of more than a few tricky situations. 

He gave me my first surfboard and wetsuit when I was in grade 10, and along with my dad lit a fire in my heart for the sea that has become one of my greatest passions. Jonsie had a way of picking out the different guys and helping them to fit in by finding something for them to be passionate about. Just the other day he spoke to my dad about organizing a board for a young guy just like me who needed something to focus his energy on. Grey High School is full of thriving boys, but Mr Jones took the time to nurture those that would otherwise have gone unnoticed.

One of the happiest days of my life was the day that I saw Jonsie and his wife sitting in the congregation of Summerstrand United Church for the first time. It was always a blessing to see his face at the entrance of the church as he handed out welcome brochures and offered his infectious smile to cheer up your morning. He always had time to catch up with me and loved hearing about my time at varsity. My heart is filled with joy as I think of him chatting to God right now about why PE didn’t provide better waves during his time on earth.

I will miss your friendship and guidance Sir. I only wish that this world hadn’t be so cruel as to take you away before you could share more of yourself with us. I could never thank you enough for the role that you played in my life. I am a better person for having encountered you.

I pray that the Lord comforts your family and friends in this difficult time. My deepest condolences to them. Farewell Jonsie, you will forever remain a legend. Rest in Peace.

 

 

One comment on “Jonesie

  1. As the eldest of his aunts children the one thing he loved (apart from his family) was the surf =, I remember once a long time ago down on Orient Beach ,East London I had gone down with my dad and the Jones boys they were surfing we were enjoying the sea – but it was getting rough we were bring ‘dumped’ on the beach. We got out and Vaughn was sitting on the edge looking out to see and we asked why he wasn’t out there – comment ” no way there is a 10 foot white out there” my comment “ta cus you left us out there!” Classic – now may you always have the perfect swells!

Leave a Reply

