A Whole New World


(c) 2014 Edward C Lunnon

8 years 1 month ill …
Physical: Deuce / Mental: Advantage Ed

Listen here: http://youtu.be/PmvT7B3u7II

I can show you the world
Shining, shimmering, splendid
Tell me, princess, now when did
You last let your heart decide?

I can open your eyes
Take you wonder by wonder
Over, sideways and under
On a magic carpet ride

A whole new world
A new fantastic point of view
No one to tell us no
Or where to go
Or say we’re only dreaming

A whole new world
A dazzling place I never knew
But when I’m way up here
It’s crystal clear
That now I’m in a whole new world with you
Now I’m in a whole new world with you

Unbelievable sights
Indescribable feeling
Soaring, tumbling, freewheeling
Through an endless diamond sky

A whole new world
Don’t you dare close your eyes
A hundred thousand things to see
Hold your breath – it gets better
I’m like a shooting star
I’ve come so far
I can’t go back to where I used to be

A whole new world
Every turn a surprise
With new horizons to pursue
Every moment red-letter
I’ll chase them anywhere
There’s time to spare
Let me share this whole new world with you

A whole new world
That’s where we’ll be
A thrilling chase
A wondrous place
For you and me

Today, for me, was a whole new world, my eyes were opened and there were a hundred thousand things to see!

Nothing dramatic happened! It was just that I received my new spectacles.

Having CBD, one would think, is bad enough and that I would be spared all the other things that may also go wrong in the body. Alas, that’s not the case!

For a while now, I have had problems with my right eye. Last week was a return visit to the ophthalmologist and he suggested another eye test too. That resulted in my new vision today. What a welcome change!

I also lost a tooth last week whilst eating my muesli and that necessitated a trip to the dentist.

I need to thank all the various professional people who assist me in every possible way, especially those in the last week who have come to my assistance yet again. They kept my last week very busy! In between all the other glamorous things that I am so blessed to be able to do, the daily housekeeping can not be neglegted!

* Dr Dean Barclay (and Dr Jan Venter in Dean’s absence) from the Eye and Laser Institute and Bryan Dowley and Tim Seaman from Spec-Savers care for my eyes
* Dr Alisdair Brown who cares for my teeth
* Andre Grundling (Orthotists) manufactures and tweaks my arm and leg braces (my “scaffolding”)
* Grant Randall from Front Cover looks after my hair and beard
* Stuart Dicke, and Julian and Marby Fletcher massage my tired muscles
* Annemarie Salmon keeps me moving in and out of the water at Aurora Hospital
* Sr Gill le Roux, Sr Janice Malkinson and Isaac Ruben from PE St Francis Hospice who visit me regularly and lift my spirits when they start falling.

(Please forgive me if your name is not here – this was just the last week and I will acknowledge you when your turn comes up! My memory is not the best anymore, either!)

So, life isn’t just all the glitz and glamour of the photoshopped pictures which we have all come accustomed to seeing on Facebook.

Nowadays, in our “whole new world” of social media, we tend to display our carefully manicured and Instagrammed lives to each other to view. Let’s not forget that there is a lot of dreary and drudgery (is there such a word?) maintenance that goes into keeping ourselves and our Facebook’s looking good and Twittering for others to see!

IMG_0931.JPG

2 comments on “A Whole New World

  1. Great report!  Wonderful poetry.  Thank you, bro.  Hang in there.

    Sent via the Samsung GALAXY S®4, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

  2. Pingback: What Port Elizabeth Blogs say on 29 October 2014

Leave a Reply

