Sleep in Heavenly Peace


(C) 2014 Edward C Lunnon
8 years 4 months ill …
Physical: Advantage CBD / Mental: Deuce

IMG_3778.JPG

IMG_3952.JPG

I started blogging some four years ago, primarily in order to reduce my workload in answering individual notes to me enquiring about my health and what I was doing to occupy my time.

It also became a vehicle to raise awareness about my illness, corticalbasal degeneration.

Little did I know then the amount of work that I was creating for myself!

But I am so grateful for the opportunities that have arisen from my writing, the friends that I have encountered, the new acquaintances that have been made, the speeches that I have delivered, the radio ramblings that Lance and I have been involved in and the awareness that has been created.

I am humbled that as we go into 2015, this blogsite is heading towards 200 000 hits.

Yet, as the figure goes up, I am also too aware of how much lonelier the path I walk becomes.

I was originally told, way back in 2007, that I would most probably depart this earth round and about 2012!

The interim years remind me of the frenetic pace that accompanies the preparation for undertaking international travel. And I have been extremely fortunate in doing so much of that!

In terms of travel, it’s the tickets, the passports, the visas, the currency, the bookings, the packing., and so on! Everything has to be just in place with no room for error.

In terms of facing death, it’s the policies, the insurance, the bank, the will, the house, the legal stuff, the funeral, the doctors, the family, the finances, the personal matters of the heart and soul, and so on! Everything, too, has to be just in place.

And, you know the feeling, when you arrive at the airport, rush through the check-in counter, then through passport control and into the waiting area of the departure and transit lounges. You sink into a chair, your luggage has been taken from you, a weight is lifted from your shoulders, not a care in the world, you hope like hell that everything has been taken care of, and if not, so what?

You watch, and wager and wait. Watch the crowds mill past, watch the wares on display in the various stores, wager your last few coins of local currency, and wait for your flight to be called.

You can’t go back from whence you have come and you can only think about the place you are going to!

If you are traveling alone, it’s a long and lonely wait. Despite being surrounded by a crowd of milling people, you are there by yourself and it becomes a lengthy wait!

And I have been waiting now for eight years and four months. The eight years have been a breeze that I have been blessed to experience.

My blogs document much of this period of my life. Thank you for allowing me to share this time with you.

The last four months have been increasingly more difficult. I am trying as much as possible to continue sharing these days with you, too. Unfortunately, my thoughts don’t always make it to my fingers and my fingers don’t make it to the keys! But thank you, too, for the words of encouragement and the acts of support in assisting me to share my time with you.

This is my ninth Christmas in the transit lounge. My body is growing tired of waiting, and I hope you will understand when I say that I am increasingly looking forward to that time when , at last, my flight will be called. My destination becomes increasingly more attractive. I long for the waiting to be over.

My wish to all of you this Christmas time – before you get to the transit lounge – is that you may discover your route in this life and know where your destination is, that you will continue to enjoy the trip and make the most of the hours given to you, and that you will sleep in Heavenly Peace.

“We regret to announce that Flight 777 to Heaven has been delayed yet again. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused.”

3 comments on “Sleep in Heavenly Peace

  1. Hey Man, you are someone special…while in the departure lounge you are influencing, benefiting, inspiring, motivating, comforting, consoling, educating, convincing and fighting for so many others that, when the time comes, you won’t need to show any credentials to St Peter at the gate to make your entrance to the place that’s waiting for you. I’m proud to know you. Trevor

  2. As always, I am touched and moved by your sincere honesty when sharing your story. Ed you have been, and thank God, and still are a blessing to so many. I hope your wait in the Departure Lounge can be made comfortable and filled with unexpected joy. Peace to you and your family this Christmas. I hope to give you another hug soon. Mooibly ou vriend.

Leave a Reply

