The Jones Affair


(C) 2015 Edward C Lunnon

8 years 5 months ill …
Physical: Deuce Mental: Advantage Ed

IMG_1073

My erstwhile roommate from Stellies 1976 and his extended family have returned to SouthAfrica from Canada for a three week holiday.

Dr Glynn and Mrs Carol Jones – I was MC at their wedding in 1979 – and their four children B (and his wife Jessanna), Nichola (and her husband Matthew), Cameron and Bryce, and the six grandchildren, Eternity, Jeremiah, Gabriel and Eden and Isaac and Isabella – are all in town – Cape Town, and I have been invited to join them!

So, I have been in the Cape since last Wednesday.

Firstly, with my family Sebastian and Michelle and Lynne and Anton in The Strand, and then with Willem and Gretel Wust in Durbanille.

The Jones arrived on Thursday and since then it has been a whirlwind of activities.

A day of catching up and then sight-seeing: Table Mountain, Cape Point, Boulder Beach, Cape Peninsula, Chapmans Peak, Waterfront, Simonstown, Ceres, Worcester, Stellenbosch, … the list continues and ends with a braai and more braais!

In between I met up with Faith and Ike Vavatsinedes and Riaan Pienaar (also Stellies) and his wife , and a hoard of friends belonging to the Wusts! I also managed to slip in evening drinks and dinner with some of the ex and present SA Navy engineers who studied with us at Stellenbosch and resided in what was then known as SAS Helshoogte.

As we made more memories, we remembered the old ones of almost 40 years ago. We contacted and Im still hoping to see Dr Shelley Cohen in Paarl with whom, together with my sister Ingrid and Glynn, we had the most unbelievable holiday in the then South West Africa way back in 1977.

This is just the skeleton of week 5 of 2016 … the memories will live on and I will try to share more of my unbelievable experiences.

My grateful thanks must be extended to all those people mentioned above who have made it possible for me to return to the Cape. Also to Carol’s brother Alan Friend in Durbanville for his amazing hospitality!

And to Glynn and Carol and their amazing family – it has been my absolute pleasure to be the addition in the Toyota Quantum and my apologies for often being the very backseat driver!

The ride continues …

Leave a Reply

