I Cried a Tear


(c) 2015 Edward C Lunnon
8 years 8 months ill …
Physical: Advantage CBD / Mental: Deuce

The best of times … the worst of times!

It’s been a difficult few weeks: Earthquakes in Nepal, Murders in Port Elizabeth, Xenophobic attacks around South Africa, load-shedding in the country, pain in my leg and bum, my last radio talk with Lance on AlgoaFm, … the list continues.

It has been a difficult time for me – both physically and emotionally. I promised myself that I would not allow myself to become emotional on air last week, but I did! I cried that tear!

The CBD not only takes your body away from you – it also robs you of your ability to work and hence your job, your livelihood, your assets, your friends, your social life, your personality, your memory, your driver’s licence, your being … the list continues!

Hidden away among the hype, the “skinder” and the rallies of the Port Elizabeth Jade murder last week, has been the ground-breaking court case in Pretoria related to assisted death (euthanasia) for people who suffer from life-limiting illnesses.

It is an emotive subject. One that will divide the population.

Thou shalt not kill!

Is it OK to call for the death penalty in the case of murder, but not assisted suicide in the case of severe illness and pain?

I must admit – I have cried a few tears this week.

It’s time to face the world again.

6 comments on “I Cried a Tear

  1. I just want to say Ed that I’m sure you had many listeners in tears as well last week as we shared your last broadcast. I have so enjoyed just following your story on Lance’s show and was very sad that it had come to an end. You have been such an inspiration to so many. So now I will keep tabs on your blogs.

    Will continue to think of you and your family in these difficult times and pray that your doctors will be able to keep you as pain-free and comfortable as possible. May your time in the States be another awesome and exciting time for you and your wife.

    Regards
    Norma Krull
    East London.

Leave a Reply

