Welcome Back to the Family



Nine years 8 months Ill | Physical Advantage CBD / Mental Deuce

The very first car that I bought, in my 2nd (3rd?) year at Stellenbosch, was a secondhand (maybe third?)light yellow VW Passat. For the first time, I was a member of the VW family.

The car cost me R2500 and I purchased it thanks to a student loan from the Standard Bank.

My next car was bought in Oudtshoorn at the commencement of my military service at the Infantry School. It was a brand new burgundy red Toyota Corolla with a white stripe, and cost R7000 odd. It ended up in the car graveyard in Rawsonvillle. I wrote about that earlier in a previous blog.

Then I returned to the VW family – a white Jetta (thanks to Bruce) and then a few more Jetta’s and a bright red Kombi thanks to Pick ‘n Pay.

The big time was hit when the Merc was delivered, and the low time when it was collected, after Pick ‘n Pay paid me to resign.

Then followed the French Peugeot era, the one with the glass fishbowl top and the white  diesel one that became Pera’s wheels.

She had arrived there via a VW golf, a red Bantam Bakkie (truck), and a red CitiGolf.

When Pera got the white Peugeot from me, I replaced it with the silver Merc station wagon, and when she thought that a Merc could also be a boat, it ended up in the Markman graveyard and I bought the X-Trail.

Yesterday, thanks to our Salesman Sean and Group 1, the Peugeot was replaced with a white Polo 1.6 TDI Comfortline and so Pera returns to the VW family.

In the meantime, Sean started his vehicle life with the black Polo which has since become Phillip’s wheels. I’m too lazy to get up and look in the filing cabinet to see what the price was, but I could put a few of my first Jetta’s into that Polo! 

So Phillip’s inThe Family!

As for Sean, it’s a different car every day, but that’s the nature of his job. May he sell many more!

And my X-Trail makes me X-Family. 

I’m feeling sad that I may not drive her anymore and she’s feeling lonely locked up in the garage. So I guess we are going to have to find a new caring owner for her. Until then, she’ll come out on high days and holidays! Thats’s what happens when you are not part of The Family. It’s sometimes weddings; often funerals.

“But this is my life and I’m passing on the memories” …


 

Leave a Reply

