The Finger


9 years 9 months Ill  … | Physical: Deuce / Mental: Deuce
I recall my mother and father sleeping on the bed that I have been sleeping on! So I guess it must be some sixty years old!

So, last Saturday, it was time for a new one, and we went shopping.

Monday, the bed arrived. And it was also the start of my increased dosage of new medication – week two.

And there was evening and there was morning, one day.

During the night, I experienced my “hallucination”: shouted and screamed, knocked the lamp over, the glass of water and hit my hand against something!

When I woke up, I had a swollen ring finger on my left hand.

I thought it would just go away.

But Dr G Scholtz of Heidelberg, at my brother-in-law Mr A Scholtz’s 60th last Saturday (behold it was very good), told me otherwise, and suggested I see a doctor.

“He rested on the seventh day from all his work”, and the Stapletons braaied with us on Sunday.

On Monday just past, on Dr Scholtz’s recommendation, I saw Dr Butters and Mr Andre Grundling, orthotist extraordinaire!

A torn tendon needs to be strapped for a month, they say, and that coincides with week three of my new meds – one Pexola and one Oxpola three times a day. If I thought I was high last week, come fly with me this week!

And Monday evening I was to address the Uitenhage Rotary Club …

IES4

Leave a Reply

