High Days and Holidays; Birthdays and Boycott Days


img_0234

(c) 2016 Edward C Lunnon: Physical: Adv CBD / Mental: Adv CBD

My blog site has been quiet for a long time now. That means that all is not well in the State of France! Nor in the State of South Africa and Not in the United States. Nor in the state of Ed!

We are all familiar with the terrorist attacks in France and Je Suis Charlie and all the subsequent terrorist attacks. In South Africa, we are currently dealing with student boycotts, fees must fall, university closures and police brutality and racism. In the USA, it’s all about Hilary and Donald – another Clinton and who holds the Trump?

I tore a tendon in my ring finger some four months ago. Two months of care has followed, an operation and a further two months of rehabilitation.

Despite celebrating my 60th birthday in September, and having my family and some friends with us, I am battling the physical and mental demons of my illness.

Ten years into my illness, I have lost so much. My job, my holiday house, my company, my self-esteem, my bank balance, my driver’s licence and now my car and my independence!

The biggest loss, psychologically, has been my car. Being in the car business, Sean sold off my X-Trail. It has gone to St Francis Bay and I hope it accumulates many happy kilometers there. But with it has gone the remnants of my self, and, I must admit, I am struggling with this one. Thank God for Uber taxis!

I am struggling with the physical deterioration of my body and the many pills that I have to take daily, just to make me “look so good !”for all of you. My memory is nowhere and my mood swings become greater. I’m shaking like a tree in the Caribbean  Hurricane Matthew. Every day is a High Day!

My eyesight has become problematic, and my reading ability becomes more and more difficult. To crown it all, that which I do see, I see in double and triple vision. Please God, just one good image and not three poor ones will suffice! We take so much for granted when we are healthy.

My sister battles her own health demons and we take strength from the courage, fortitude and determination that she displays each and every day. We pray for her and all others who battle cancer and disease.

Holidays are no longer what they used to be and the disintegration of the “nest” has happened to us too now. The High Days are only the high days now!

I am struggling to control my brain. I know there is so much for which to be grateful, but tell my brain that …

I am struggling.

In the words of the student protesters, “The Struggle Continues”!

One comment on “High Days and Holidays; Birthdays and Boycott Days

  1. Wow Ed….I’m just one of your followers since the days of your Wed morning Algoa chats with Lance. Have always so admired your positivity and strength right throughout these difficult years. So thoughts and prayers go out to you for the continued challenges.

Leave a Reply

