And so, the curtain falls on Reunion 2017


29 May 2017 | Ill 1o years 8 months | Advantage Ed

Yesterday, Sunday, was a day of rest, figuratively as per the Holy Bible and literally as per my (non-) activity during the day.

It was the end of The Grey Reunion 2017 and gave me time to reflect on the last few weeks. I have been exceptionally busy!

Let me try and remember, and share with you the merry month of May:

This Sunday (28 May) was rest day. Last Sunday (21st) I spoke at the Hospice Last Night of the Proms at the Feathermarket Hall Port Elizabeth and raised some R15000 for PE St Francis Hospice.

The previous Sunday (14 May) I was in Strand in the Western Cape and celebrated Mothers Day lunch with my Aunty Doreen, Uncle Peter and their sons (my cousins John and Jeremy Volsteedt, their wives and their children). In the afternoon, I attended the Stellenbosch University Choir recital in Bellville Cape Town with Gretel and Willem Wust with whom I was staying in Durbanville.

The previous Sunday (7 May) I had spent the last day of our visit to Kleinmond, near Hermanus, with Gretel and Willem.

This Monday (29 May) was also a rest day. I had lunch with Ben Roth at the Old Grey’s Club and watched the Brits go up against each other in political debate – May vs Corborn. Last Monday (22 May) I simply can’t remember. The previous Monday (15 May) I met with Saatchi and Abels advertising staff and friend Werner Greeff  (ex -Springbok) in Durbanville, and we had supper with the Wusts friends. Monday 8 May I saw the ophthalmologist in Claremont, and Monday 1 May I can’t remember.  We had just returned from the Harris wedding at Tandjiesview in the Camdeboo, and it was a long weekend.

Today (Tuesday 30 May) is the 41st anniversary of my Dad’s death. Last Tuesday, 23 May, I can’t remember. The previous Tuesday (16 May) the Willem Wusts and I had supper with the Jacobus Wusts in Welgemoed. On Tuesday (9 May), Nadia’s and the previous Tuesday (2 May) I was packing to fly to Cape Town.

Tomorrow is Wed 31 May. We are having breakfast at the Marine Hotel to say goodbye to friend LIz Findlay. In the old South Africa, 31 May was a public holiday – first Union Day and then Republic Day. Last Wed (24 May) we attended the Selley concert in the Feathermarket Hall and afterwards I went to the Old Grey Club till 2am and got a lift home with my Neighbour Grant Jennings. The previous Wed (17 May) I flew back to PE from Cape Town. THe previous Wed (10 May)  and the previous Wed (3 May) I flew to Cape Town from Port Elizabeth. It’s the date of my parents’ wedding anniversary.

Thursday 4 May, Thu 11 May I had supper with my Cape Town neurologist and his family, Thu 18 May I was at home in PE and Thu 25 May was the reunion dinner for 630 Old Greys in the Memorial quad. I got to bed at 4h15 am!

The first weekend of May from Fri 5 May to Sun 7 May we spent with the Willem and Jacobus Wusts and Gretel and Tillie in Kleinmond. The following weekend Fri 12 May to Sun 14 May I was in Stellenbosch and Strand with the Ridgways, Mullers, Volsteedts and. Engelbrechts and in Wynberg watching Grey vs Wynberg. Then weekend Fri 19 May to Sun 21 May was the Hospice Proms concerts and dinner and this past weekend, Fri to Sun 26 May to 28 May was the Grey Reunion weekend, with Assembly, Lecture, Lunch, Trooping, supper, rugby and Anton’s birthday braai with our Scholtz family.

Sjoe! … The merry month of May!

One comment on “And so, the curtain falls on Reunion 2017

  1. Pingback: And so, the curtain falls on Reunion 2017 – Featured Blog

Leave a Reply

