Story of a City Child

I was asked to translate the previous blog (song) for my overseas readers:

 

When the rain of dust and soot has passed by

And the smog has gone, 

There’ll be in the starless heaven

A rainbow to look upon.

 

And look so well

‘Cos when you see it,

I’ll tell you a story, my child, a bit

Of a treasure chest shackled with chains so old.

It’s the Rainbow’s Pot of Gold!

 

Search for it each night along black rivers

Over cliffs of concrete.

If you keep on walking

Ten thousand hours,

Perhaps you’ll get to meet.

 

But, here, don’t force yourself to bind

Because, my child, it’s this story of old:

If it’s peace and joy you want to find –

Search for the rainbow’s Pot of Gold!

 

Search for it each night along black rivers

Don’t look back – not one.

Perhaps you’ll find the land of blue saffires

And perhaps a little sun.